Multi-crew Pilot License

MPL Programme*

The MPL (Multi-crew Pilot Licence) was introduced in 2006 by the International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO). Its objective is to produce the next generation of airline pilots by developing the abilities needed to fly in a multi crew airline environment.

The MPL is a new philosophy for better preparing pilots for the modern Multi-crew environment. Traditional CPL/IR training focused on creating safe commercial pilots first, before transitioning them into a multi-crew environment, whereas MPL training specifically includes modern transport and multi-crew training outcomes in its syllabus. This is accomplished at a very early stage in the development of the pilot and includes a higher quantum of relevant training on a Flight Simulator Training Device (FSTD).

Similar to the traditional CPL/IR, the MPL programme in SFC is a Competency Based Training course where the cadet is constantly evaluated against a set of clearly defined standards along the lines of Knowledge Skills and Attitudes (KSA’s).

The Program also emphasizes Threat and Error Management (TEM) and Crew Resource Management (CRM) throughout the course to ensure a seamless transition from ab-initio training to airliner type rating. To help ensure the MPL programme provides airlines with pilots who are able to safely and efficiently operate modern airliners in all expected operational environments, Upset Prevention and Recovery Training (UPRT) is incorporated from the early stages of training.

The MPL Programme consists of 4 phases:

Phase 1 – Core Flying Skills
a) CAAS ATPL Theory - conducted in Singapore, approximately 6 months.
b) Basic single pilot training in a single engine aircraft – conducted in Perth, Australia. This currently consists of at least 100 hours of flight time in a Cessna 172, a CAAS PPL (A) and a CASA RPL.


Phase 2 – Basic
a) A 2 day CRM course and an additional 8 days of theory covering a wide range of subject matter provides trainees the knowledge to operate the aircraft from a line pilots perspective.  Lessons are instructor driven and supported by E-learning material.

b) In this phase, trainees are introduced to basic airline operations covering Jet Operation Techniques, Multi Crew Co-operation (MCC) and Threat and Error Management (TEM) principles.  Raw data instrument flight using generic SOP’s receive special focus and are accomplished under the supervision and guidance of qualified airline instructors.  This is currently conducted on a FSTD in Singapore.


Phase 3 – Intermediate

a) In this phase MCC and TEM procedures are reinforced with special emphasis placed on the management of both normal and non normal situations.  Aircraft handling and management skills are further reinforced with training accomplished on a FSTD capable of motion.


Phase 4 – Advanced

a) This fourth and final phase covers, aircraft type-rating training within a  dedicated airline orientated environment.
On completion of the 4-phase Program the cadets will graduate with a Multi Crew Pilot Licence and a good understanding of the airlines Standard Operating Procedures (SOP).  They would now be ready for immediate integration into a dedicated Initial Operating Experience programme.

For many airlines, the MPL represents the future of flight training. The MPL programme is airline dedicated and provides the industry with an opportunity to train pilots directly for the operational airline environment. Singapore Flying College currently holds CAAS approval to conduct the MPL programme for Singapore Airlines and Silk Air sponsored cadets. Current legislation requires a student training for an MPL to be sponsored by an airline.

*The MPL programme is currently not available to the private candidates